Monthly Wrap Ups, Posts in English, Specials/Aktionen

[Monthly Wrap Up] April 2017

How is it already May? Time flew by again in April and today I’m finally writing last month’s wrap up (very late, I know)! April was a very good reading month for me as I’ve read a total of 7 books and enjoyed the majority of them a lot. I did some traveling over Easter break and had a lot of school work to do, but miraculously I still managed to squeeze in some reading time. If you want to know more about my past month, keep reading!

IMG_6411

April Books

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

I finished the audio book very early in the month and so far it is probably my favorite out of the whole series. The first book was pretty terrible in my opinion, but I have to admit that I got more interested in the story with each book. I will say that I just finished Empire of Storms today and was so disappointed in it, so sadly this series will never receive any love from me.

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien

I’m participating in the Lord of the Rings Readathon hosted by Anabelle over on her blog  Stehlblüten the goal of which it is to finish all three books until the beginning of June. I finished the first one very quickly and am now ashamed to say that I’ve fallen off track and haven’t really gotten any further since. These books are very heavy high fantasy (obviously, Larissa :P) and I just needed a break. I do want to continue reading but at this point, with having to study for exams, I’m just not sure I’ll be able to finish in time.

IMG_6414

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows

By far one of the funniest books I have ever read and one of my 2017 highlights, for sure! Here’s my review.

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

The second book in my new favorite series, The Raven Cycle. Of course it didn’t disappoint. I’m currently reading the third book, Blue Lily, Lily Blue. You can read my review here.

IMG_6412

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Another highlight for the year. A great LGBTQ+ story with adorable characters. This really made me want to read Becky Albertalli’s next book, see the May Releases section. Here’s my review.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Such an important book that everyone should read! The Hate U Give should become the classic of our time if you ask me. Another review!

IMG_6413

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

I had to read this for school but it’s been on my TBR for a long time now, along with a lot of other classics, so I was glad for the opportunity to finally read it! I did enjoy it but somehow had different expectations so it didn’t blow me out of the water.

May Releases

This month my most anticipated book of the year is being published and that is Lord of Shadows, the second book in the Dark Artifices series by Cassandra Clare, set in her shadowhunter universe. As you already know, her books are my absolute favorite fantasy novels and I get so excited whenever she writes a new one. I actually didn’t read Lady Midnight, its prequel, right when it came out because I knew the wait for the next one would be horrible, so I wanted to save it for a while. Eventually, though, I gave in and of course I can’t wait to read what happens next at the Los Angeles Institute.
Last week, A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas was released and I feel like everyone is freaking out about this. I still haven’t even started that series yet and I’m a little hesitant because I didn’t like her Throne of Glass series very much. I will eventually read it though.
Another very exciting new release is The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli, which doesn’t technically count for May as it was published in April, but I still wanted to mention it since I loved her debut novel, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, so much.

May TBR

I’ve already finished 3 books this month, which I will tell you more about in my next monthly wrap up, but there are a couple more that I’d like to finish this month:

Easter and Amsterdam

IMG_6415

Over the Easter break I had to write a term paper, which was really stressful, but I also went to Amsterdam with my mom for a couple of days! Amsterdam is a very beautiful city and we’re both so glad we went on the short trip. It was nice to get away for a couple of days before going back to school work.

April TV Shows

IMG_6416With all the other stuff I had going on I still managed to watch all of 13 Reasons Why in a week and I really loved it! I know the show splits the crowd opinion-wise but I personally thought it was brilliant. I was genuinely moved by how they handled such a sensitive topic and I thought the actors were great and really authentic. Today, I read that a second season was confirmed! I’m not sure how I feel about that as the first season seemed complete to me and while a lot of questions were left unanswered, I’m not sure how they will make a whole second season while still keeping Hannah as the main focus point. I’m definitely excited to see where the show is going from here and will read the book in the near future to do a book/adaptation comparison!

April is also Prison Break month! I didn’t watch the original show when it was released because I was really young back then, but decided to give it a try early on last year. I was hooked and finished all four season pretty quickly but the ending wasn’t my favorite. It was so exciting to hear that a fifth season was being made, a decade after the show ended! While I’m usually not the biggest fan of revivals because in most cases the original shows should just be left in peace, I’m so glad this revival is happening! The new season started airing last month in the U.S. and in Germany.

Now, don’t laugh at me but last month I also got out one of my favorite childhood TV shows: Avatar – The Last Airbender. Only recently I found out that the show was continued in comic format and since I’m still a fan at 19 *cough cough* I just have to read them. I could still remember most of what happened in the show, but decided that I couldn’t get around a rewatch before picking up the comics. I’m so, so glad I did! So many happy memories and all the lovely, familiar characters! Excuse me while I go and return to my inner child.

What books did you read last month? Did you do anything fun for Easter?

larissa

I'd love to hear from you!

